Nikiszowiec, a former workers housing estate was registered last week as the Monument of History and became 41st monument of Poland at the list. Also it is an important step in efforts to register this unique complex as the UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The Monuments Preservation Council had accepted the district’s candidature in March last year. Then the application was submitted for a final agreement by the President of Poland. On 14th of January, Bronisław Komorowski signed the document.
Thanks to the registering as the historical monument, a homogeneous system of cultural heritage protection, promotion, conservation and documentation will be implemented for Nikiszowiec.
Nikiszowiec was built in two stages between 1908-1915 and 1920-1924 as a housing estate for workers employed in the nearby coal mine. It was designed by brothers Georg and Emil Zillmann from Charlottenburg. The complex comprises 9 red brick blocks of flats, each with its own courtyard. The housing estate has been provided with public facilities which made Nikiszowiec self-sufficient such as bakeries, shops, two schools with a teachers’ home, hospital, church, restaurants, pharmacy, public bath for the miners’ families, laundry, mangle and playgrounds.
The mentioned church of st. Anne is located in the heart of Nikiszowiec. The most prominent parts of the interior are the neo-Baroque fixtures made in the workshop of Georg Schreiner in Munich, the bronze chandelier of a 4,5 meters span manufactured by the AEG company in Berlin, and the stained glass by Georg Schneider from Regensburg. Additionally, the church is equipped with the 75-voice organ with 5 350 pipes.
The main asset of the district is that the most of Nikiszowiec’s architecture and main social functions originally designed stay unchanged to these days.